The City of Simi Valley welcomes you, and we recognize the value and importance of a strong and varied business community. Starting a business can be exciting and challenging. We wish you great success in your new venture!
There are many things to consider and various agencies to contact when starting or operating a business. While each endeavor may have its own unique situation or purpose, it is important for you to research prior to starting the application procedure.
We hope to offer you a better understanding of the business tax and provide you with steps required for the application process. For your convenience, there is a listing of other agencies in the “download forms” section and below is a list of “Frequently Asked Questions” to assist you.
The easiest and fastest way to apply for a new Business Tax Certificate or to renew your current Business Tax Certificate is by using the online filing method. To begin, simply click on the “start now” button located on the right of this page. From the main menu, please select the “apply” option to submit a new application for your business.
If you need further assistance applying for a business tax certificate, you are welcome to contact us at Support@hdlgov.com or by phone at (805) 850-1521. Phone support is available Monday through Friday, 8:00 am to 5:00 pm (PST).
The law provides that a Business Tax Certificate is necessary before any Business, Trade, Profession, Enterprise, Establishment, Occupation, or Calling is conducted within the City. A Tax Certificate is required even though the business may be located outside the City or have a Tax Certificate from another city.
The Business Tax Certificate is valid until December 31st of the year in which it is issued and must be renewed by April 30th of the following year. It is the responsibility of the tax certificate holder to ensure that the tax is paid each year.
California State Mandated Fee of $4.00 for all Business Licenses and Renewal of Business Licenses:
California CASP Fee: SB-1186 went into effect 01/01/2013, and imposes, on and after January 1, 2013, and until December 31, 2018, an additional State fee of $1 on any applicant for a local business license or equivalent instrument or permit, or renewal thereof, for purposes of increasing disability access and compliance with construction related accessibility requirements and developing educational resources for businesses to facilitate compliance with federal and state disability laws, as specified.
The Senate Bill 1186 creates a continuously appropriated fund, the Disability Access and Education Revolving Fund, for the deposit of funds to be transferred to the Division of the State Architect. By adding to the duties of a local entity, this bill imposes a State-mandated local program, which results in costs incurred by the local agencies. On October 11, 2017, AB 1379 went into effect and extends the operation of this fee indefinitely and, on and after January 1, 2018, and until December 31, 2023, increases the amount from $1 to $4. The bill would revert the amount of the fee back to $1 on and after January 1, 2024.
The collection of this mandated fee imposed by the State is already included in the business tax registration fee, and the renewal fee of $19.00. For more information on SB-1186 and AB 1379, please visit http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov.
For protection of the public, various types of businesses are regulated through the City’s Police or Environmental Services Departments, or through the Ventura County Fire or Health Departments. Your business may or may not be regulated.
For more information on massage parlors, please visit https://www.simivalley.org/departments/environmental-services/planning-division/massage-permits.
The following is a list of some of the operations that need a "permit" in addition to a Business Tax Certificate:
Circuses and Carnivals
Parades and Shows